Donald Pease

2019 speaker


Professor of English and Chair of the Dartmouth Liberal Studies Program

Donald Pease, professor of English, The Ted and Helen Geisel Third Century Professor in the Humanities, Chair of the Dartmouth Liberal Studies Program and winner of the 1981 Distinguished Teaching Award at Dartmouth, is an authority on nineteenth and twentieth-century American literature and literary theory. In 1996 he founded the Dartmouth Futures of American Studies Institute. A recipient of a Ph.D. from the University of Chicago, he is the author of Visionary Compacts: American Renaissance Writings in Cultural Context (which won the Mark Ingraham Prize for the best new book in the Humanities in 1987), The New American Exceptionalism (2009), and Theodor Seuss Geisel(2010).

The author of over one hundred articles on figures in American and British literature, Pease is the co-editor of American Renaissance Rediscovered and the editor of fourteen volumes including The Cultures of United States Imperialism (1992), The Futures of American Studies (2002) and Re-Framing the Transnational Turn in American Studies (2012), and American Studies as Transnational Practice(2016). Pease is also general editor of a series of eighty-one volumes at Duke University Press called The New Americaniststhat have transformed the field of American Studies. In 2010 he inaugurated Re-Mapping the Transnational Turn: A Dartmouth Series in American Studies. He has been awarded Guggenheim, Mellon, Ford, and Hewlett fellowships and has twice received an NEH Directorship to teach college teachers about nineteenth-century American Literature.

In 2000 he was the Drue Heinz Visiting Professor at Oxford University and over the past five years, Pease has been Distinguished Visiting Professor at the JFK Institute in American Studies at the Freie Universitaett, Berlin; the State University of New York at Buffalo; the University of Pittsburgh; and the University of Rome at Tor Vegata, and the University of Würzburg. In January of 2011, Pease was awarded a doctorate honoris causaby the Faculty of Languages at Sweden’s Uppsala University, and in 2012, he received the Bode-Pearson Prize for life-long scholarly contributions to American Studies. In 2019 he received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Bavarian Academy in American Studies.